Significance Of Nine Colours Of Navratri 2021

Significance Of Nine Colours Of Navratri 2021

The Navratri 2021 has now begun. People all over India are excited to celebrate and pray to the goddess. Navratri symbolizes the triumph of good over evil. The Nine days festival depicts nine different avatars of Goddess Durga and their special blessings. Have you ever wondered about the significance of these Navratri colors? Let us discuss more the depiction of colors of all the days of Navratri.

Day 1: Yellow

Yellow color signifies wealth and good fortune. People believe that worshipping the Goddess with great reverence and devotion would appease the goddess and bring them monetary stability and good finances.


   Day 2: Green

Green is often considered a symbol of life or procreation, and it's also associated with the natural world. It's said that Maa Durga, pleased by Sage Katya's devotion, took birth as his daughter.

Day 3: Grey

This day is worshipped as the fiercest form of the Goddess, that of a saviour, a protecting knight. Symbolised by the color grey, devotees on this day worship the goddess asking Her to protect them always from all difficulties, dangers and ward off any negative energy cementing in their lives.


Day 4: Orange

Orange color signifies tranquillity, brightness, and knowledge. People bring the deity of the Goddess to their respective homes. Community pandals organise a lifesize idol of the deity and keep Her in a common centre for general public to visit and seek blessings of.

Day 5: White

It is symbolic with the inner peace devotees should aim for.

Day 6: Red

Red color symbolizes fearlessness as well as beauty. This day signifies people to adopt a dauntless attitude towards all the hurdles in lives and stay courageous and undefeated in the face of failures.

Day 7: Royal Blue

Blue color is symbolic of universe because it represents all the waters in existence. On this holiday, devotees show their appreciation for nature by tying prominently colored threads to tree leaves or other greenery!

Day 8: Pink

Pink color symbolizes purity and compassion.

Day 9: Purple

Purple color represents ambition and power.


During the festivities of Navratri, add sparkle to your home, try adding some decorative items such as wall hangings, wall painting, cotton curtain rods, cushion covers, dohars, designer carpets, wall clocks etc. These will add an element of vibrancy and festivity to your home and create a more meaningful experience during this time!

If you are looking for home furnishing items, you must visit Story@Home website. Story@Home provides you a one-stop platform for all your home interior needs, from Towels, designer quilts, mink blankets, curtains, bedsheets, home decor items. They provide good quality and an affordable range of items, with a large variety to choose from as per your needs.

Buy More, Save More!!! Happy Shopping!!!

Back to blog